SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT

300 Lakeside Drive, P.O. Box 12688, Oakland, CA 94604-2688

Board of Directors Minutes of the 1,645th Meeting December 15, 2011

A regular meeting of the Board of Directors was held December 15, 2011, convening at 9:23 a.m. in the Board Room, 344 20th Street, Oakland, California. President Franklin presided; Kenneth A. Duron, District Secretary.

Directors present: Directors Blalock, Fang, Keller, McPartland, Murray, Raburn,

Radulovich, Sweet, and Franklin.

Absent: None.

President Franklin brought Introduction of Special Guests before the Board.

Director McPartland welcomed and introduced the Honorable John Marchand, Mayor of Livermore, and Oakland Fire Department Fire Chief Mark Hoffman.

President Franklin brought the matter of 2011 Holiday Toy Drive Benefiting Monument Community Partnership before the Board. Directors Murray and Sweet welcomed and introduced Ms. Kathy Renfrow, Business Manager, and Mr. Harold Blair, member of the Monument Community Partnership Board of Directors.

Chief of Police Kenton Rainey, Community Oriented Policing and Problem Solving team member Lauren LaPlante, Ms. Renfrow, and Mr. Blair addressed the Board.

Director Fang exited the Meeting.

President Franklin introduced and welcomed Mr. Randall Glock, BART Accessibility Task Force. Mr. Glock addressed the Board.

Director Keller, Vice Chairperson of the Engineering and Operations Committee, brought the matter of District Signage Program before the Board. Mr. Paul Oversier, Assistant General Manager, Operations, and Mr. Tian Feng, District Architect, presented the item.

Director Fang re-entered the Meeting.

The item was discussed.

Mr. Ed Dillard addressed the Board.

Director Raburn moved that the General Manager be authorized to execute Change Order No. 2 to Contract No. 59EA-110, San Francisco Bay Area Transit Hub Signage Improvement, to L C General Engineering & Construction, Inc., for the negotiated amount of \$666,709.00. Director

Murray seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous electronic vote. Ayes -9: Directors Blalock, Fang, Keller, McPartland, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Sweet, and Franklin. Noes -0.

Director Murray, Chairperson of the Planning, Public Affairs, Access, and Legislation Committee, brought the matter of Alameda County Transportation Commission Transportation Draft Expenditure Plan: BART Projects/Programs, before the Board, noting that the item would be for discussion only. Mr. Carter Mau, Executive Manager, Planning and Budgets, presented the item. The item was discussed.

Director Radulovich exited the Meeting.

The following individuals addressed the Board.

Mr. Robert S. Allen

Mr. Charles Hartwig

Mr. Michael Fredrich

Honorable John Marchand

Mr. Bob Baltzer

Mr. Thomas O'Neill

Ms. Roxanne Cruz

Mr. Lynn Seppala

Mr. Kent Lewandowski

Mr. Manolo Gonzalez-Estay

Mr. Joel Ramos

Director Radulovich re-entered the Meeting.

Public comment on the item continued.

Mr. Gerald Cauther

Ms. Karen Smulevitz

Mr. Jon Spangler

Ms. Joan Seppala

Ms. Patricia Mann

Ms. Maryann Brent

Mr. John Dalrymple

Mr. Bob Allen

Mr. Bob Vinn

Mr. Jerry Grace

Discussion on the item continued.

President Franklin announced that Board Member reports and Roll Call for Introductions would be combined.

Director Keller requested an update on the status of responses from the Metropolitan Transportation Commission and the Federal Transit Administration regarding the District's letter concerning pre-apprenticeship programs.

Director Keller reported that he had attended the West Contra Costa Mayors and Supervisors meeting regarding the I-80 corridor.

Director Sweet requested an updated report on the actual payments to African-American contractors and clarification of the data provided, and that the report be expanded to include minority contractors other than African-American.

President Franklin reported he had attended the first State of Good Repair Tour.

Director Blalock reported the Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority had celebrated its 20-year anniversary on December 8 in Sacramento.

Director Raburn reported he had attended the State of Good Repair Tour and a hearing conducted by Senator Mark deSaulnier on regional transportation governance.

Director Raburn requested annual ethics training for the Board of Directors and executive staff, leading to the development of a code of conduct.

President Franklin called for the General Manager's report.

Ms. Crunican reported on steps she had taken and meetings she had participated in.

President Franklin brought the matter of Election of Officers before the Board, and shared his comments on the events of the past year of his Presidency.

President Franklin opened the floor for nominations for President. Director Fang nominated Director McPartland for President of the Board of Directors. There being no additional nominations, nominations were closed. Director Fang moved that Director McPartland be elected Board President for 2012. Director Blalock seconded the motion, which carried by electronic vote. Ayes – 8: Directors Blalock, Fang, McPartland, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Sweet, and Franklin. Noes – 1: Director Keller.

President McPartland assumed the gavel and shared comments on the upcoming year.

President McPartland opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. Director Fang nominated Director Radulovich for Vice President of the Board of Directors. There being no additional nominations, nominations were closed. Director Fang moved that Director Radulovich be elected Board Vice President for 2012. Director Sweet seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous electronic vote. Ayes – 9: Directors Blalock, Fang, Keller, McPartland, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Sweet, and Franklin. Noes - 0.

Vice President Radulovich shared comments on the upcoming year.

President McPartland called for General Discussion and Public Comment.

The following individuals addressed the Board.

Mr. Charlie Walker

Mr. Jerry Grace

Mr. Richard Dixon Mr. Eddie Dillard

Comments received were discussed.

The Board Meeting was adjourned at 12:52 p.m.

Kenneth A. Duron District Secretary