SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT

300 Lakeside Drive, P.O. Box 12688, Oakland, CA 94604-2688

Board of Directors Minutes of the 1,545th Meeting December 18, 2008

A regular meeting of the Board of Directors was held December 18, 2008, convening at 9:09 a.m. The meeting was held via simultaneous teleconference in the Board Room, 344 20th Street, Oakland, California, and the Hilton Palm Springs, 400 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, California. President Murray presided; Kenneth A. Duron, District Secretary.

Directors present in Oakland: Directors Blalock, Fang, Franklin, McPartland, Sweet, and

Murray.

Director present in Palm Springs: Director Keller.

Absent: Directors Radulovich and Ward Allen.

Director Sweet welcomed and introduced her niece, Kelah Sweet-Mims, and a group of young women from Oakland High School.

Director Blalock welcomed and introduced his wife, Gayle, son, David, and daughter-in-law, Kimberly.

President Murray welcomed and introduced the following representatives from Shelter, Inc., of Contra Costa County: Kathleen Hamm, Board President; Timothy O'Keefe, Executive Director; and Carol Chan, Treasurer.

Mr. O'Keefe addressed the Board.

Director McPartland welcomed and introduced Mr. Kevin Luiz, Deputy Director of the Governor's Office of Emergency Services; his family, including wife Maria, his son David and David's fiancée, Amy; Mr. Randall Hunter; Ms. Shirley Gee; Mr. Bob Carone; and Mr. James Allison.

Director McPartland was administered his oath of office by Mr. Luiz.

Director McPartland and Director Sweet shared remarks with the Board regarding their respective election and re-election.

Consent Calendar item brought before the Board was:

1. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of December 4, 2008.

Director Fang moved that the Minutes of the Meeting of December 4, 2008, be approved. Director Blalock seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous roll call vote. Ayes – 7: Directors Blalock, Fang, Franklin, Keller, McPartland, Sweet, and Murray. Noes – 0.

Absent – 2: Directors Radulovich and Ward Allen.

President Murray noted that there were no reports of Standing Committees, and called for the General Manager's report. General Manager Dorothy W. Dugger had no report.

President Murray brought Roll Call for Introductions before the Board. No items were introduced.

President Murray brought the matter of Declaration of November 4, 2008, Election Results before the Board. Director Sweet moved that there be entered into the Minutes of the Board the official canvass of the returns for Election Districts 5, 7, and 9, as taken by the Registrars of Voters of Alameda County, Contra Costa County, and the City and County of San Francisco for the election of November 4, 2008, the elected candidates having received the highest number of votes cast in their respective election districts based on said official canvass; and that there be entered into the Minutes of the Board a copy of the motion passed by the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County appointing Gail Murray as Director for District 1; and that there be entered into the Minutes of the Board a copy of the motion passed by the Board of Supervisors of Alameda County appointing Bob Franklin as Director for District 3; and that the following candidates be declared elected or appointed to the Board of Directors of the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District:

District 1 Gail Murray

District 3 Bob Franklin

District 5 John McPartland

District 7 Lynette Sweet

District 9 Tom Radulovich

(The official canvass is attached and hereby made a part of these Minutes.)

Director Fang seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous roll call vote. Ayes – 7: Directors Blalock, Fang, Franklin, Keller, McPartland, Sweet, and Murray. Noes – 0. Absent – 2: Directors Radulovich and Ward Allen.

President Murray brought the matter of Resolution Commending Zoyd R. Luce before the Board and moved adoption of Resolution No. 5066. Director Blalock seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous roll call vote. Ayes – 7: Directors Blalock, Fang, Franklin, Keller, McPartland, Sweet, and Murray. Noes – 0. Absent – 2: Directors Radulovich and Ward Allen.

President Murray brought the matter of Election of Officers before the Board, and shared her comments on the events of the past year of her Presidency. She then opened the floor for nominations for President.

Director Fang nominated Director Blalock for President of the Board of Directors. There being no additional nominations, nominations were closed. Director Fang moved that Director Blalock be elected Board President for 2009. President Murray seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous roll call vote. Ayes – 7: Directors Blalock, Fang, Franklin, Keller, McPartland, Sweet, and Murray. Noes – 0. Absent – 2: Directors Radulovich and Ward Allen.

President Blalock assumed the gavel and opened the floor for nominations for Vice President.

Director Sweet nominated Director Fang for Vice President of the Board of Directors. There being no additional nominations, nominations were closed. Director Sweet moved that Director Fang be elected Board Vice President for 2009. Director Franklin seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous roll call vote. Ayes – 7: Directors Blalock, Fang, Franklin, Keller, McPartland, Sweet, and Murray. Noes – 0. Absent – 2: Directors Radulovich and Ward Allen.

Vice President Fang shared comments on the upcoming year.

President Blalock shared comments on the upcoming year.

Director McPartland welcomed and introduced Captain Joe Torres, Oakland Fire Department; Commander David Lippen, Federal Disaster Medical Assistance Team, California-6 (DMAT-6); Mr. Brandon Bond, DMAT-6; and Mr. Robert S. Allen.

President Blalock called for General Discussion and Public Comment.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Mr. Charlie Walker Mr. Robert S. Allen Ms. Shirley Gee

The Board Meeting adjourned at 10:10 a.m.

Kenneth A. Duron District Secretary