SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT

300 Lakeside Drive, P.O. Box 12688, Oakland, CA 94604-2688

Board of Directors Minutes of the 1,723rd Meeting December 18, 2014

A regular meeting of the Board of Directors was held December 18, 2014, convening at 9:06 a.m. in the Board Room, 344 20th Street, Oakland, California. President Keller presided; Kenneth A. Duron, District Secretary.

- Directors present: Directors Blalock, Josefowitz, Mallett, McPartland, Murray, Raburn, Saltzman, and Keller.
 - Absent: None. Director Radulovich entered the Meeting later.

Director Keller introduced and welcomed the Honorable Mary Rocha, Antioch City Councilmember, and Ms. Barbara McCullough, Chief Executive Officer of Brighter Beginnings, the District's 2014 Holiday Toy Drive recipient. Ms. Rocha and Ms. McCullough addressed the Board.

Director Radulovich entered the Meeting.

Director Josefowitz introduced and welcomed his mother, god mother, and wife, Tali, and San Francisco Supervisor Scott Wiener.

Supervisor Wiener administered the oath of office to Director Josefowitz.

Director Josefowitz shared comments on the upcoming year.

Director Blalock introduced and welcomed his wife Gail and their daughter, Allison.

Consent Calendar items brought before the Board were:

- 1. Approval of Minutes of the Meetings of November 20, 2014 (Regular); December 4, 2014 (Special); and December 11, 2014 (Special).
- 2. Declaration of November 4, 2014, Election Results.
- 3. Revision to 2014 Standing Committee and Special Appointments: Rules of the Board of Directors of the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District Ad Hoc Committee.

Consent Calendar motions, as follow, were moved as a unit by Director Blalock. Director Murray seconded the motions, which carried by unanimous acclamation. Ayes - 9: Directors Blalock, Josefowitz, Mallett, McPartland, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Saltzman, and Keller. Noes -0.

- 1. That the Minutes of the Meetings of November 20, 2014 (Regular); December 4, 2014 (Special); and December 11, 2014 (Special), be approved.
- 2. That there be entered into the Minutes of the Board the official canvass of the returns for Election Districts 4 and 8 as taken by the Registrars of Voters of Alameda County and the City and County of San Francisco for the election of November 4, 2014, the elected candidates having received the highest number of votes cast in their respective election districts based on said official canvass; and that there be entered into the Minutes of the Board copies of the motion passed by the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County appointing Gail Murray as Director for District 1; and the motion passed by the Board of Supervisors appointing Thomas M. Blalock as Director for District 6; and that the following candidates are hereby declared elected or appointed to the Board of Directors of the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District:

| District No. | Candidate | Elected/A | opointed |
|--------------|-----------|-----------|----------|
| | | | |

- 2 Joel Keller
- 4 Robert Raburn
- 6 Thomas M. Blalock
- 8 Nicholas Josefowitz
- 3. That the Board of Directors ratify the appointment of Directors Mallett, Radulovich, and Saltzman to the newly created Rules of the Board of Directors Ad Hoc Committee.

Director Saltzman, Chairperson of the Administration Committee, had no report.

Director McPartland, Chairperson of the Engineering and Operations Committee, had no report.

Director Raburn, Chairperson of the Planning, Public Affairs, Access, and Legislation Committee, had no report.

President Keller called for the General Manager's Report. General Manager Grace Crunican reported on steps she had taken and activities and meetings she had participated in, reminded the Board of upcoming events, and gave a report on the progress of outstanding Roll Call for Introductions items.

President Keller called for Board Member Reports and Roll Call for Introductions.

Director Raburn reported he had attended a meeting on Black Lives Matter.

Director Josefowitz reported he had ridden the first bus in the new late night bus service.

Director Radulovich requested the development of a policy of divesting District assets from fossil fuel investments. Director Saltzman seconded the request.

President Keller brought the matter of Resolution Commending James Fang before the Board. Director McPartland moved adoption of Resolution No. 5283, Resolution Commending James Fang for Meritorious Service. Director Murray seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous acclamation. Ayes - 9: Directors Blalock, Josefowitz, Mallett, McPartland, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Saltzman, and Keller. Noes – 0.

President Keller brought the matter of Election of Officers before the Board.

President Keller shared his comments on the events of the past year of his Presidency.

President Keller opened the floor for nominations for President. Director McPartland nominated Director Blalock for President of the Board of Directors. President Keller closed nominations. Director McPartland moved that Director Blalock be elected Board President for 2015. Director Raburn seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous acclamation. Ayes - 9: Directors Blalock, Josefowitz, Mallett, McPartland, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Saltzman, and Keller. Noes – 0.

President Blalock assumed the gavel and shared comments on the upcoming year.

President Blalock opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. Director Saltzman nominated Director Radulovich for Vice President of the Board of Directors. Nominations were closed. Director Saltzman moved that Director Radulovich be elected Board Vice President for 2015. Director Murray seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous acclamation. Ayes - 9: Blalock, Josefowitz, Mallett, McPartland, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Saltzman, and Keller. Noes – 0.

Director Radulovich shared comments on the upcoming year.

President Blalock called for Public Comment. Mr. Alan Smith addressed the Board.

The Board Meeting was adjourned at 9:42 a.m.

Kenneth A. Duron District Secretary