SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT

300 Lakeside Drive, P.O. Box 12688, Oakland, CA 94604-2688

Board of Directors Minutes of the 1,663rd Meeting September 13, 2012

A special meeting of the Board of Directors was held September 13, 2012, convening at 12:00 p.m., in the Board Room, 344 20th Street, Oakland, California. Vice President Radulovich presided; Kenneth A. Duron, District Secretary.

Directors present: Directors Blalock, Keller, King, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, and Sweet.

Absent: None. Directors Fang and McPartland entered the Meeting later.

Vice President Radulovich called for Public Comment on Item 3 only. No comments were received.

Director Fang entered the Meeting.

Vice President Radulovich brought the matter of Reimbursement for Members of the Citizen Review Board for Travel to the National Association for Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement (NACOLE) 18th Annual Conference.

Mr. Mark Smith, Independent Police Auditor, presented the item. The item was discussed.

Director Sweet moved that the Controller/Treasurer or his designee be authorized to process travel reimbursement, in accordance with the parameters of BART Management Procedure No. 20 as it relates to District employees, up to two Citizen Review Board (CRB) members for their attendance as CRB representatives at the NACOLE 2012 Annual Conference in San Diego, California, from October 14, 2012, to October 18, 2012; and that if more than two members of the CRB desire to obtain reimbursement for their attendance at the NACOLE 2012 Annual Conference, two of them shall be selected at random out of all of those interested to determine which ones will receive the reimbursement. Director King seconded the motion.

Discussion continued.

President McPartland entered the Meeting.

Director Keller made a substitute motion, that the matter be referred to the CRB for their advice on whether or not to send anyone to NACOLE prior to the Board taking action. Director Blalock seconded the substitute motion. Discussion continued. The substitute motion failed by electronic vote. Ayes – 4: Directors Blalock, Fang, Keller, and Murray. Noes – 4: Directors King, Raburn, Radulovich, and Sweet. Abstain – 1: Director McPartland.

Vice President Radulovich returned to the main motion.

The main motion carried by electronic vote. Ayes -6: Directors King, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Sweet, and McPartland. Noes -3: Directors Blalock, Fang, and Keller.

The Special Board Meeting was adjourned at 1:05 p.m.

Kenneth A. Duron District Secretary