SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT

300 Lakeside Drive, P.O. Box 12688, Oakland, CA 94604-2688

Board of Directors Minutes of the 1,668th Meeting December 20, 2012

A regular meeting of the Board of Directors was held December 20, 2012, convening at 9:10 a.m. in the Board Room, 344 20th Street, Oakland, California. President McPartland presided; Kenneth A. Duron, District Secretary.

Directors present: Directors Blalock, Keller, Mallett, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Saltzman,

and McPartland.

Absent: Director Fang.

President McPartland introduced and welcomed California State Senator Jim Beall, Director Mallett's long-time friend Ms. Caroline Judy, and Oakland City Councilmember Libby Schaaf. Director Saltzman introduced and welcomed her wife, Kaitlyn Stone, her parents, Irene and Frank Saltzman, her sister and brother-in-law Sarah and Jeff McCann, and her niece, Rajiyah McCann.

President McPartland brought the matter of Oath of Office for 2012 Newly Elected and Appointed Directors before the Board.

The Honorable Libby Schaaf administered the oath of office to Director Saltzman.

The Honorable Jim Beall administered the oath of office to Director Mallett.

Directors Saltzman and Mallett shared comments on the upcoming year.

Consent Calendar items brought before the Board were:

- 1. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of December 6, 2012.
- 2. Declaration of November 6, 2012, Election Results.

Consent Calendar motions, as follow, were moved as a unit by Director Murray. Directors Blalock and Raburn seconded the motions, which carried by unanimous electronic vote. Ayes - 8: Directors Blalock, Keller, Mallett, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Saltzman, and McPartland. Noes – 0. Absent – 1: Director Fang.

- 1. That the Minutes of the Meeting of December 6, 2012, be approved.
- 2. That there be entered into the Minutes of the Board the official canvass of the returns for Election Districts 3, 5, 7, and 9 as taken by the Registrars of Voters of Alameda County, Contra Costa County and the City and County of San Francisco for the election of November 6, 2012, the elected candidates having received the highest number of votes cast in their

respective election districts based on said official canvass; and that there be entered into the Minutes of the Board copies of the motion passed by the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County appointing Gail Murray as Director for District 1; and that the following candidates are hereby declared elected or appointed to the Board of Directors of the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District:

District No.	Candidate Elected/Appointed
1	Gail Murray
3	Rebecca Saltzman
5	John McPartland
7	Zakhary Mallett
9	Tom Radulovich

Director Murray, Vice Chairperson of the Administration Committee, had no report.

Director McPartland, Vice Chairperson of the Engineering and Operations Committee, had no report.

Director Blalock, Chairperson of the Planning, Public Affairs, Access, and Legislation Committee, had no report.

President McPartland called for the General Manager's report. General Manager Grace Crunican thanked Ms. Jennifer Barton, Executive Manager, External Affairs, for her service to the District, noting that this would be her last Board Meeting.

Controller-Treasurer Scott Schroeder introduced Mr. Chris Gan, the District's new Assistant Controller.

President McPartland called for Board Member Reports and Roll Call for Introductions.

Director Raburn reported that he had attended twelve events, including an AFL-CIO luncheon, Carpenters Moose Feed luncheon, Bay Area Council dinner, and a meeting of the East Bay Small Business Coalition.

Director Raburn requested the District collaborate with a firm named CyArk in utilizing technology to archive historical and cultural materials and information important to the communities surrounding stations, and recommended entering into a memorandum of understanding with the firm supplementing the grant application for funding of a permanent memorial adjacent to the San Bruno Station.

Director Murray reported she had attended the Bay Area Council dinner and a meeting regarding small business contracting opportunities. Director Murray reported she had attended a planning conference hosted by the Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation regarding transit-oriented development.

President McPartland reported he had attended the Bay Area Council luncheon and the Carpenters Moose Feed luncheon.

Director Blalock reported he had attended an event at the South Bay Engineers Club, the Citizen Review Board Meeting, and the Carpenters Moose Feed luncheon.

President McPartland brought the matter of Election of Officers before the Board.

President McPartland shared his comments on the events of the past year of his Presidency.

President McPartland opened the floor for nominations for President, and nominated Director Radulovich for President of the Board of Directors. Director Blalock moved to close nominations. President McPartland moved that Director Radulovich be elected Board President for 2013. Directors Blalock and Murray seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous electronic vote. Ayes - 8: Directors Blalock, Keller, Mallett, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Saltzman, and McPartland. Noes – 0. Absent – 1: Director Fang.

President Radulovich assumed the gavel.

President Radulovich shared comments on the upcoming year.

President Radulovich introduced and welcomed El Cerrito City Councilmember Janet Abelson.

President Radulovich opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. Director Murray nominated Director Keller for Vice President of the Board of Directors. Director Blalock moved to close nominations. Director Murray moved that Director Keller be elected Board Vice President for 2013. Director McPartland seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous electronic vote. Ayes - 8: Directors Blalock, Keller, Mallett, Murray, Raburn, Radulovich, Saltzman, and McPartland. Noes – 0. Absent – 1: Director Fang.

Director Keller shared comments on the upcoming year.

Director Raburn thanked citizen advisory committee members in the audience for their service to the District.

President Radulovich called for General Discussion and Public Comment.

The following individuals addressed the Board.

Ms. Jean Hamilton

Mr. Jerry Grace

Mr. Jon Spangler

The Board Meeting was adjourned at 10:04 a.m.

Kenneth A. Duron District Secretary