The BART Police Department is responsible for enforcing all parking rules and regulations set forth by the State of California and the BART District. The BART Police Department processes parking citations through a contactor, DATA TICKET INC. All appealed parking citations are reviewed by the BART Police Traffic Office. It is important that you follow all the listed instructions in order to pay or appeal your citation to avoid any additional penalties.
You may pay your bill by mail or online by going to:
If you make payment by mail, send the proper amount of penalty in money order or check, payable to BART. Please do not send cash. Enclose the notice of parking violation with your payment and/or proof of correction(s). Write your citation number on your payment. A $3.50 convenience fee will be applied to all credit card payments. Mail to:
CITATION PROCESSING CENTER
P.O. BOX 10479
NEWPORT BEACH, CA 92658-0479
Payment inquiries can be made by calling (800) 989-2058.
TO RESPOND TO A CITATION
The registered owner or lessee of the vehicle shall within 21 days of issuance, either;
1) Pay the parking penalty, or
2) Submit a written appeal online at www.CitationProcessingCenter.com or mail your appeal with any supporting information to the address as noted above. Your payment or appeal request must be received within 21 days of the citation date. Submitted documents will not be returned. Your appeal should include the following information:
- Date of Request
- Daytime phone number
- Email address
- Citation number
- Type of citation
- Date of citation
- Location of violation
- Vehicle license plate number (including state)
- Reason for request of citation dismissal
- Any supporting photos or documentation to show that violation did not occur, payment was made, or valid permits were displayed.
Warning: Ignoring the time limits of a parking citation will result in immediate action in the form of additional penalties and eventual lien hold being placed on your vehicle registration with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Vehicles with five or more citations will be impounded or immobilized pursuant to California Vehicle Code Section 22651 (I) and 22651.7
NOTE: CVC Sections 4000(a) (1), 5200, and 5204 require vehicle inspection and evidence of violation corrections. Evidence of correction may be obtained at any police agency during regular business hours. If corrected, bail on these violations is reduced to $10.00 per corrected violation must be received within 21 days of the citation date or penalties will accrue. Handicapped placard users who receive a handicapped parking citation due to not hanging their placard properly will be charged a $25.00 administrative fee for dismissal of the violation. There will be an $18.00 service charge for all returned checks.
There are three components to the appeals process that are set forth by the California Vehicle Code Section 40215. It is very important to follow all the listed requirements above, especially the time restrictions. Failure to follow the time restrictions will result in the citation being upheld.
Mail a letter of explanation and enclose a copy of the parking citation and all necessary documentation to substantiate your claim; you may also elect to do this via the website www.CitationProcessingCenter.com. All Level 1 Appeals are reviewed by the BART Police Traffic office.
If your citation was not dismissed in the Level 1 step, you will be notified by Data Ticket Inc. Data Ticket Inc. will then send you the instructions on how to request a Level 2 Hearing. All fines must be paid in order to receive a Level 2 Hearing. The hearing is conducted by a third party contracted by BART. These hearings can be conducted in person or in writing.
If you citation is not dismissed at the Level 2 the only recourse is to request a court hearing. All court fees must be paid by the violator.
BART Parking Enforcement and Fines
Different parking violations have different amounts for fines at BART. For example, parking within 15 feet of a fire hydrant will cost you $40.00, while parking in a handicapped space without the proper placard will resuilt in a $275 fine. You can get the whole list of violations and fines here.
DATA TICKET INC.
BART-CITATION PROCESSING CENTER
2603 MAIN STREET SUITE 300
IRVINE, CA 92614
BART POLICE DEPARTMENT-TRAFFIC
P.O. BOX 12688
OAKLAND, CA 94604-2688